About Immanuel Lutheran

 

History

Immanuel Lutheran Church had its beginnings in Immanuel Lutheran School. The school at 16th and Matheny was opened November 25th, 1916 as a branch Christian Day School of Trinity Lutheran Church. On October 10th, 1926 preaching services were begun on the second floor of the Immanuel School. On July 23rd, 1929 a release was granted by Trinity Lutheran Church to eighty-five members who organized a new congregation adopting the name “Immanuel” meaning “God is with us”.

 

After worshiping for over twenty years at Immanuel School, a new church was built at 15th and Moffat and dedicated on August 13th, 1950. In 1968 Immanuel merged with “Our Redeemer Lutheran Church”. As a result of this merge and a need for a larger facility a Christian Day School and Chapel were built at 2750 Sangamon Ave. On May 1st, 1973 the new School and Chapel were dedicated.

 

Over the years Immanuel has provided the Springfield community with both a Christian Day School and Chapel services teaching God’s word to its members and visitors. There have been some changes. In the Spring of 2005 the members of Immanuel voted to close the Christian Day School but to continue to operate the Christian Pre-school. Or Pre-school provides a Christian based quality education and learning environment for its students.

 

Our church provides worship services, bible studies and other activities. Rev. James Stuenkel is currently serving as Immanuel's Vacancy Pastor.

 

Mission Statement

To faithfully proclaim the Gospel to all people trusting that the Holy Spirit would draw them through Word and Sacrament ministry into a vibrant and loving relationship with Jesus Christ as found in Matthew 28:18-20, Acts 1:8 and Acts 2:42 - 47

Worship Services
Sunday Morning: 9:00 AM
Sunday School: 10:15 AM
Bible Class: 10:30 AM
Wednesday Bible Study: 10:00 AM

Immanuel Lutheran Church
2750 E Sangamon Ave
Springfield, IL 62702
P: 217.528.5232
F: 217.523.5453
immanuel02002@yahoo.com